Hunter Sports High School, Gateshead

Name: Hunter Sports High School
Type: Secondary School
Address: Pacific Hwy
Town: Gateshead
Postcode: 2290
State: New South Wales
Region Hunter/Central Coast
Phone: 4943 5755
Fax: 4942 2565
Pupils: 892

Hunter Sports High School was established as a co-educational comprehensive high school in 1959 and has forged close ties with its community. Originally known as Gateshead High, it has drawn upon four main urban concentrations for its local students; Gateshead, Gateshead West, Windale and Mount Hutton. Designated the sports high school for the Hunter at the start of 1997, it now draws talented sports students from across the region. Our vision is a school to which students want to come, to which parents want to send their children and in which staff enjoy working. As the designated sports high school, we aim to provide opportunities for talented sports students from Years 7 to 12. They can achieve optimum success within our targeted sports program in a supportive school environment.  


47 Schools in Hunter/Central Coast, New South Wales

Primary and Secondary School

Secondary School


QTS for teachers qualified in Aus. and NZ

The Department for Education have now confirmed that as of April 1st 2012, teachers whom have qualified in Australia and New Zealand will now be recognised as qualified teachers and awarded Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) in England without being required to undertake any further training or assessment.

As well as being eligible to work in the UK, overseas trained teachers (OTTs) will need to have a fully recognised teaching qualification and, in some instances, registration from their country of origin. Teachers can apply for UK Qualified Teachers Status (QTS) by completing the following form:

QTS Application for Teachers from Australia and New Zealand.

For more information on how to gain QTS as an overseas trained teacher please visit the Department for Education's website by clicking here.

Teacher profiles


australian flagAustralian Secondary Schools Search

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales



South Australia

Western Australia


Northern Territory