Newman Senior High School, Newman

Name: Newman Senior High School
Type: Secondary School
Address: Gregory Avenue
Town: Newman
Postcode: 6753
State: Western Australia
Region Pilbara
Phone: 08 9175 8100
Fax: 08 9177 8004
Pupils: 327

At Newman Senior High School we run many types of programs including Tertiary Entrance, Structured Workplace Learning, Enterprise Education, Intensive Literacy Support, Vocational programs, School Apprenticeship links, Certificate I in Horticulture along with Certificate II in Information Technology. We have developed strong partnerships with BHPBilliton, Community groups and the Pilbara College of TAFE.

Newman Senior High School is well resourced and has an excellent range of facilities. These include two computer laboratories, a library with video linkage to other schools in the state. We offer many extra-curricular activities which includes: CALM Bushrangers, Country Week, Drama Productions, Sporting carnivals with Jigalong and Interschool sporting carnivals with other Pilbara Schools. 


4 Schools in Pilbara, Western Australia

Secondary School


QTS for teachers qualified in Aus. and NZ

The Department for Education have now confirmed that as of April 1st 2012, teachers whom have qualified in Australia and New Zealand will now be recognised as qualified teachers and awarded Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) in England without being required to undertake any further training or assessment.

As well as being eligible to work in the UK, overseas trained teachers (OTTs) will need to have a fully recognised teaching qualification and, in some instances, registration from their country of origin. Teachers can apply for UK Qualified Teachers Status (QTS) by completing the following form:

QTS Application for Teachers from Australia and New Zealand.

For more information on how to gain QTS as an overseas trained teacher please visit the Department for Education's website by clicking here.

Teacher profiles


australian flagAustralian Secondary Schools Search

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales



South Australia

Western Australia


Northern Territory