Hedland Senior High School, South Hedland

Name: Hedland Senior High School
Type: Secondary School
Address: 45 Roberts Street
Town: South Hedland
Postcode: 6722
State: Western Australia
Region Pilbara
Phone: 08 9172 1244
Fax: 08 9172 3797
Email: Hedland.SHS@det.wa.edu.au
Website: www.hedlandshs.wa.edu.au
Pupils: 677

Hedland Senior High School is 1700km north of Perth in the community of Port Hedland in the booming Pilbara Region of Western Australia.

Our school motto is 'Together We Achieve through Care, Courtesy, Respect and Responsibility' and highlights the importance we place on working as a team to ensure the best possible outcomes for our 720 Year 8 - 12 students.

Staff, parents, student, industry and the wider community work together to achieve our school vision:-

To establish a safe modern educational institution that values cultural difference, promotes excellence in learning and empowers students to contribute positively in a world of constant change.


4 Schools in Pilbara, Western Australia

Secondary School


QTS for teachers qualified in Aus. and NZ

The Department for Education have now confirmed that as of April 1st 2012, teachers whom have qualified in Australia and New Zealand will now be recognised as qualified teachers and awarded Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) in England without being required to undertake any further training or assessment.

As well as being eligible to work in the UK, overseas trained teachers (OTTs) will need to have a fully recognised teaching qualification and, in some instances, registration from their country of origin. Teachers can apply for UK Qualified Teachers Status (QTS) by completing the following form:

QTS Application for Teachers from Australia and New Zealand.

For more information on how to gain QTS as an overseas trained teacher please visit the Department for Education's website by clicking here.

Teacher profiles


australian flagAustralian Secondary Schools Search

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales



South Australia

Western Australia


Northern Territory