Emerald State High School, Emerald

Name: Emerald State High School
Type: Secondary School
Address: Old Airport Drive
Town: Emerald
Postcode: 4720
State: Queensland
Region Fitzroy-Central West
Phone: (07) 4988 2222
Fax: (07) 4988 2200
Email: info@emeraldshs.eq.edu.au
Website: www.emeraldshs.eq.edu.au
Pupils: 621

Emerald State High is located in the town of Emerald, located 265 Km west of Rockhampton. Established in 1969, it is home to approximately 600 students of diverse backgrounds, and is the largest state secondary education provider in the region.

Emerald is the commercial hub the Central Highlands Region. It has a thriving economy based on a wide range of industries including; Coal and Gemstone Mining, Grazing, Agriculture (Grain and Cotton), and Horticulture (Grapes and Citrus).

Emerald State High's curriculum has been designed to suit the needs of such a diverse community. By offering both Vocational and Academic education, the school can offer a comprehensive curriculum, tailored to suit the needs of
each student, and the wider community.


27 Schools in Fitzroy-Central West, Queensland

Primary and Secondary School

Secondary School


QTS for teachers qualified in Aus. and NZ

The Department for Education have now confirmed that as of April 1st 2012, teachers whom have qualified in Australia and New Zealand will now be recognised as qualified teachers and awarded Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) in England without being required to undertake any further training or assessment.

As well as being eligible to work in the UK, overseas trained teachers (OTTs) will need to have a fully recognised teaching qualification and, in some instances, registration from their country of origin. Teachers can apply for UK Qualified Teachers Status (QTS) by completing the following form:

QTS Application for Teachers from Australia and New Zealand.

For more information on how to gain QTS as an overseas trained teacher please visit the Department for Education's website by clicking here.

Teacher profiles


australian flagAustralian Secondary Schools Search

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales



South Australia

Western Australia


Northern Territory