Thornlie Senior High School, Thornlie

Name: Thornlie Senior High School
Type: Secondary School
Address: 2 Ovens Road
Town: Thornlie
Postcode: 6108
State: Western Australia
Region Canning
Phone: 08 9459 2544
Fax: 08 9493 2750
Pupils: 1095

Thornlie Senior High School, established in 1971, is situated 16 kilometres from Perth in the Canning Education District. A comprehensive senior high school catering for students from Year 8 to Year 12, Thornlie SHS is an Information Technology Focus School, a Specialist Sports School (Swimming and Rugby), and a Registered Training Organisation (RTO) under the auspices of the Australian Quality Training Framework. The school's population averages in the 1100's and the staff comprises 80 specialist teachers (including the Principal and three Heads of School) and 32 ancillary and contract staff. 

Recently, the school has undergone an extensive building and maintenance programme (including airconditioning) to provide excellent facilities to support the learning and teaching environment of our students and staff.


14 Schools in Canning, Western Australia

Secondary School


QTS for teachers qualified in Aus. and NZ

The Department for Education have now confirmed that as of April 1st 2012, teachers whom have qualified in Australia and New Zealand will now be recognised as qualified teachers and awarded Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) in England without being required to undertake any further training or assessment.

As well as being eligible to work in the UK, overseas trained teachers (OTTs) will need to have a fully recognised teaching qualification and, in some instances, registration from their country of origin. Teachers can apply for UK Qualified Teachers Status (QTS) by completing the following form:

QTS Application for Teachers from Australia and New Zealand.

For more information on how to gain QTS as an overseas trained teacher please visit the Department for Education's website by clicking here.

Teacher profiles


australian flagAustralian Secondary Schools Search

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales



South Australia

Western Australia


Northern Territory