Cooktown State School, Cooktown

Name: Cooktown State School
Type: Primary and Secondary School
Address: Cnr May and Charles Streets
Town: Cooktown
Postcode: 4895
State: Queensland
Region Far North Queensland
Phone: (07) 4082 0222
Fax: (07) 4069 5651
Pupils: 381

Cooktown P-12 provides primary and secondary educational services to the town of Cooktown and secondary educational services to the communities of Hopevale, Lakeland, Rossville, Laura, Wujal Wujal and Bloomfield. As the largest school in the Eastern Cape Cluster the Cooktown school is the hub for teacher professional development and delivery of support services to students in this wide geographical area.

The school established in 1875 has provided a quality education for the communities of the area over 131 years. The secondary department was established in 1986. The modern challenges of the school include a diverse client enrolment of which 38% identify as indigenous and the provision of educational programs relevant for all students.


24 Schools in Far North Queensland, Queensland

Primary and Secondary School

Secondary School


QTS for teachers qualified in Aus. and NZ

The Department for Education have now confirmed that as of April 1st 2012, teachers whom have qualified in Australia and New Zealand will now be recognised as qualified teachers and awarded Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) in England without being required to undertake any further training or assessment.

As well as being eligible to work in the UK, overseas trained teachers (OTTs) will need to have a fully recognised teaching qualification and, in some instances, registration from their country of origin. Teachers can apply for UK Qualified Teachers Status (QTS) by completing the following form:

QTS Application for Teachers from Australia and New Zealand.

For more information on how to gain QTS as an overseas trained teacher please visit the Department for Education's website by clicking here.

Teacher profiles


australian flagAustralian Secondary Schools Search

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales



South Australia

Western Australia


Northern Territory