Murtoa College, Murtoa

Name: Murtoa College
Type: Primary and Secondary School
Address: Webb Street
Town: Murtoa
Postcode: 3390
State: Victoria
Region Central Highlands Wimmera
Phone: (03) 5385 2381
Fax: (03) 5385 2657
Pupils: 275

Murtoa College is a situated in the Wimmera, 300km west of Melbourne. The surrounding area consists of a small rural community with an agricultural, mainly grains, base.

Murtoa College is a P-12 College formed by the amalgamation of Murtoa Primary School and Murtoa Secondary College in 2000. The Primary sector currently has approximately 55 students and the Secondary sector has 280 students. Whilst the Primary sector recruits only from Murtoa, the Secondary sector takes enrolments from Murtoa, Minyip, Rupanyup, Glenorchy, Marnoo and Horsham primary schools.

As the new Charter starts in the first year of the amalgamation, the focus will be on the successful integration of the two schools, as well as the successful recruitment of Secondary students from other centres.


22 Schools in Central Highlands Wimmera, Victoria

Primary and Secondary School

Secondary School


QTS for teachers qualified in Aus. and NZ

The Department for Education have now confirmed that as of April 1st 2012, teachers whom have qualified in Australia and New Zealand will now be recognised as qualified teachers and awarded Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) in England without being required to undertake any further training or assessment.

As well as being eligible to work in the UK, overseas trained teachers (OTTs) will need to have a fully recognised teaching qualification and, in some instances, registration from their country of origin. Teachers can apply for UK Qualified Teachers Status (QTS) by completing the following form:

QTS Application for Teachers from Australia and New Zealand.

For more information on how to gain QTS as an overseas trained teacher please visit the Department for Education's website by clicking here.

Teacher profiles


australian flagAustralian Secondary Schools Search

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales



South Australia

Western Australia


Northern Territory