St Ignatius College, Athelstone

Name: St Ignatius College
Type: Secondary School
Address: 2 Manresa Ct
Town: Athelstone
Postcode: 5076
State: South Australia
Region Adelaide
Phone: (08) 8334 9300
Fax: (08) 8365 0056
Pupils: 0

Saint Ignatius' College was founded at Norwood by the Jesuit Fathers in 1951. In 1967 a second campus opened at Athelstone occupying 17 hectares at the base of the Adelaide Hills. 

The college is one of five Jesuit Schools in Australia, part of the group of more than one thousand Jesuit Colleges, Primary Schools and Universities throughout the world, which educate about one and a half million students today, in sixty-six countries. 

Girls were first admitted in 1971 and in 1996 the College became completely co-educational from Reception through to the completion of secondary schooling. The Junior School (Reception to Year 6) is situated in Norwood and the Middle Years (Years 7 to 9) and Senior Years (Years 10 to 12) in Athelstone.


69 Schools in Adelaide, South Australia

Primary and Secondary School

Secondary School


QTS for teachers qualified in Aus. and NZ

The Department for Education have now confirmed that as of April 1st 2012, teachers whom have qualified in Australia and New Zealand will now be recognised as qualified teachers and awarded Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) in England without being required to undertake any further training or assessment.

As well as being eligible to work in the UK, overseas trained teachers (OTTs) will need to have a fully recognised teaching qualification and, in some instances, registration from their country of origin. Teachers can apply for UK Qualified Teachers Status (QTS) by completing the following form:

QTS Application for Teachers from Australia and New Zealand.

For more information on how to gain QTS as an overseas trained teacher please visit the Department for Education's website by clicking here.

Teacher profiles


australian flagAustralian Secondary Schools Search

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales



South Australia

Western Australia


Northern Territory