Sacred Heart College, Somerton Park

Name: Sacred Heart College
Type: Secondary School
Address: Brighton Road
Town: Somerton Park
Postcode: 5044
State: South Australia
Region Adelaide
Phone: 61 8 8294 2988
Fax: 61 8 8295 8461
Pupils: 0

Sacred Heart College is a Marist  senior secondary coeducational school in Adelaide, South Australia.  

Sacred Heart College is situated in a seaside suburb of Adelaide, adjacent to the historic and popular suburb of Glenelg.  

TheCollege was founded at Port Adelaide in 1897 by Br Stephen Debourg, aMarist Brother and relocated to its present site in 1914.  TheMarist Brothers were founded in France by Saint Marcellin Champagnat inthe early years of the nineteenth century and they were subsequentlyinvited to establish schools in Australia, arriving in Sydney in 1872.  

Ascontemporary Marist educators, we share and continue Marcellin's dreamof transforming the lives and situation of young people, particularlythe least favoured, through offering them an integral education, bothhuman and spiritual, based on a personal love for each one.


69 Schools in Adelaide, South Australia

Primary and Secondary School

Secondary School


QTS for teachers qualified in Aus. and NZ

The Department for Education have now confirmed that as of April 1st 2012, teachers whom have qualified in Australia and New Zealand will now be recognised as qualified teachers and awarded Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) in England without being required to undertake any further training or assessment.

As well as being eligible to work in the UK, overseas trained teachers (OTTs) will need to have a fully recognised teaching qualification and, in some instances, registration from their country of origin. Teachers can apply for UK Qualified Teachers Status (QTS) by completing the following form:

QTS Application for Teachers from Australia and New Zealand.

For more information on how to gain QTS as an overseas trained teacher please visit the Department for Education's website by clicking here.

Teacher profiles


australian flagAustralian Secondary Schools Search

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales



South Australia

Western Australia


Northern Territory