Prince Alfred College, Kent Town

Name: Prince Alfred College
Type: Primary and Secondary School
Address: Kent Town
Town: Kent Town
Postcode: 5071
State: South Australia
Region Adelaide
Phone: 61 8 83341200
Fax: 61 8 83630702
Pupils: 1000

Prince Alfred College is one of Australia's leading boys schools,having been established in 1869. Originally established by theMethodist Church, it is now affiliated with the Uniting Church ofAustralia. It currently has almost 1000 boys aged between 4 and 18, andis situated in spacious grounds near the centre of Adelaide, beside thecity's extensive parklands. 

Boarding is available to students and morethan 100 boys from country areas and overseas live in the Boardinghouse. 

The College has an outstanding reputation for academicperformance, sporting results, musical and drama productions, chess,artistic development, moral and ethical formation in the Christiantradition, and for the quality of care shown to the students.


69 Schools in Adelaide, South Australia

Primary and Secondary School

Secondary School


QTS for teachers qualified in Aus. and NZ

The Department for Education have now confirmed that as of April 1st 2012, teachers whom have qualified in Australia and New Zealand will now be recognised as qualified teachers and awarded Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) in England without being required to undertake any further training or assessment.

As well as being eligible to work in the UK, overseas trained teachers (OTTs) will need to have a fully recognised teaching qualification and, in some instances, registration from their country of origin. Teachers can apply for UK Qualified Teachers Status (QTS) by completing the following form:

QTS Application for Teachers from Australia and New Zealand.

For more information on how to gain QTS as an overseas trained teacher please visit the Department for Education's website by clicking here.

Teacher profiles


australian flagAustralian Secondary Schools Search

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales



South Australia

Western Australia


Northern Territory