Penola High School, Penola

Name: Penola High School
Type: Secondary School
Address: 43 Cameron Street
Town: Penola
Postcode: 5277
State: South Australia
Region Limestone Coast
Phone: (08) 8737 2382
Fax: (08) 8737 2842
Pupils: 148

Penola High School is located in the picturesque township of Penola, which is in the heart of the South East Region of South Australia. It is nestled amongst the vines of the famous Coonawarra wine growing region, between Mount Gambier and Naracoorte.

t is the oldest commercially established town in the region, with a number of famous identities being associated with it. One of the finest lyric poets, John Shaw Neilson was born here, and bush poets Will Ogilvie and Adam Lindsay Gordon lived and worked in the district - all drawing their inspiration from the picturesque landscape. Penola was also the home of Antarctic explorer, John Rymill. The famous Mary MacKillop who along with Father Julian Woods opened the first free catholic school. 


10 Schools in Limestone Coast, South Australia

Primary and Secondary School

Secondary School


QTS for teachers qualified in Aus. and NZ

The Department for Education have now confirmed that as of April 1st 2012, teachers whom have qualified in Australia and New Zealand will now be recognised as qualified teachers and awarded Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) in England without being required to undertake any further training or assessment.

As well as being eligible to work in the UK, overseas trained teachers (OTTs) will need to have a fully recognised teaching qualification and, in some instances, registration from their country of origin. Teachers can apply for UK Qualified Teachers Status (QTS) by completing the following form:

QTS Application for Teachers from Australia and New Zealand.

For more information on how to gain QTS as an overseas trained teacher please visit the Department for Education's website by clicking here.

Teacher profiles


australian flagAustralian Secondary Schools Search

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales



South Australia

Western Australia


Northern Territory