Mount Compass Area School, Mount Compass

Name: Mount Compass Area School
Type: Primary and Secondary School
Address: School Road
Town: Mount Compass
Postcode: 5210
State: South Australia
Region Southern Sea & Vines
Phone: (08) 8556 8219
Fax: (08) 8556 8471
Pupils: 371

Mount Compass is located 59 Kms from Adelaide GPO. It is centrally placed on the Fleurieu Peninsula being approximately equidistant from Strathalbyn, Goolwa, Port Elliot, Victor Harbor, Yankalilla, Aldinga and McLaren Vale.

Mount Compass Area School has been at its present site since 1934. It became an Area School in 1962. Rapid enrolment increases in the 1980's saw a redevelopment of the school and the addition of Year 12 in 1988. It is now a comprehensive community school with significant numbers of students coming from south coast towns and towns to the north.

The school is organised in three student communities Junior (R-6) for children, Middle (7-9) for young adolescents, and Senior (10-12) for emerging adults, within a framework of R-12 support and expectations.


6 Schools in Southern Sea & Vines, South Australia

Primary and Secondary School

Secondary School


QTS for teachers qualified in Aus. and NZ

The Department for Education have now confirmed that as of April 1st 2012, teachers whom have qualified in Australia and New Zealand will now be recognised as qualified teachers and awarded Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) in England without being required to undertake any further training or assessment.

As well as being eligible to work in the UK, overseas trained teachers (OTTs) will need to have a fully recognised teaching qualification and, in some instances, registration from their country of origin. Teachers can apply for UK Qualified Teachers Status (QTS) by completing the following form:

QTS Application for Teachers from Australia and New Zealand.

For more information on how to gain QTS as an overseas trained teacher please visit the Department for Education's website by clicking here.

Teacher profiles


australian flagAustralian Secondary Schools Search

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales



South Australia

Western Australia


Northern Territory