Cowell Area School, Cowell

Name: Cowell Area School
Type: Primary and Secondary School
Address: 42 Story Road
Town: Cowell
Postcode: 5602
State: South Australia
Region Eyre
Phone: (08) 8629 2150
Fax: (08) 8629 2486
Pupils: 187

Cowell Area School was originally established as a primary school in1892. It shifted to its present site in 1912 and became a higherprimary school in 1930. The school was granted area school status in1961.

Our school currently provides enriching learning opportunities for students from Reception to Year 12.

As students progress through our school they have the opportunity tochoose academic or vocational subjects or a combination of both.Students at Cowell have been highly successful in their learning due tothe school’s commitment to providing for their needs. This isunderpinned by quality teaching.

As a school delivering vocational opportunities, Aquaculture , Boating and Doorways to Construction are taught along with more traditional vocational subjects.


12 Schools in Eyre, South Australia

Primary and Secondary School

Secondary School


QTS for teachers qualified in Aus. and NZ

The Department for Education have now confirmed that as of April 1st 2012, teachers whom have qualified in Australia and New Zealand will now be recognised as qualified teachers and awarded Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) in England without being required to undertake any further training or assessment.

As well as being eligible to work in the UK, overseas trained teachers (OTTs) will need to have a fully recognised teaching qualification and, in some instances, registration from their country of origin. Teachers can apply for UK Qualified Teachers Status (QTS) by completing the following form:

QTS Application for Teachers from Australia and New Zealand.

For more information on how to gain QTS as an overseas trained teacher please visit the Department for Education's website by clicking here.

Teacher profiles


australian flagAustralian Secondary Schools Search

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales



South Australia

Western Australia


Northern Territory