Lyneham High School, Lyneham

Name: Lyneham High School
Type: Secondary School
Address: Goodwin St.
Town: Lyneham
Postcode: 2602
State: Australian Capital Territory
Region ACT
Phone: +61 2 6205 6399
Fax: +61 2 6205 6411
Pupils: 1000

Lyneham High School has two enrichment programs running; a selective gifted andtalented academic program called LEAP (Lyneham Enriched AcademicProgram), and a similar program aimed at sporting achievers called SEAL(Sporting Excellence At Lyneham). This allows students time to train intheir chosen sport during school hours but also provides catch-uplessons during PE lessons. The school also runs a Learning Support Unitfor students with learning difficulties, as well as an ESL unit forstudents learning English as a second language.

The school is known for its band program, in which almost half theschool's students participate. The school's bands have achievednumerous awards in the National Eisteddfod over past years and is knownthroughout the territory.


26 Schools in ACT, Australian Capital Territory

Primary and Secondary School

Secondary School


QTS for teachers qualified in Aus. and NZ

The Department for Education have now confirmed that as of April 1st 2012, teachers whom have qualified in Australia and New Zealand will now be recognised as qualified teachers and awarded Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) in England without being required to undertake any further training or assessment.

As well as being eligible to work in the UK, overseas trained teachers (OTTs) will need to have a fully recognised teaching qualification and, in some instances, registration from their country of origin. Teachers can apply for UK Qualified Teachers Status (QTS) by completing the following form:

QTS Application for Teachers from Australia and New Zealand.

For more information on how to gain QTS as an overseas trained teacher please visit the Department for Education's website by clicking here.

Teacher profiles


australian flagAustralian Secondary Schools Search

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales



South Australia

Western Australia


Northern Territory