Hobart College, HOBART

Name: Hobart College
Type: Secondary School
Address: Olinda Grove Campus Mt Nelson
Postcode: 7007
State: Tasmania
Region Southern
Phone: (03) 6220 3133
Fax: (03) 6223 8771
Email: Hobart.College@education.tas.gov.au
Website: www.hobart.tased.edu.au
Pupils: 1200

Hobart College, a state government institution with a proud record of achievement. International students at the year 11 and 12 level have taken part in the college program for over fifty years.

The college values the presence of International Students and the extra dimension they bring to our college life. We recognise that achievers goals require hard work and commitment and our goal is to fully support students academically and personally.

Hobart College is situated on Mount Nelson, which overlooks the city and the suburb of Sandy Bay. It is set among natural bushland, while only being 15 minutes from the city by bus. The College is housed in six multi-level blocks, which enclose a central courtyard and walkway.


20 Schools in Southern, Tasmania

Primary and Secondary School

Secondary School


QTS for teachers qualified in Aus. and NZ

The Department for Education have now confirmed that as of April 1st 2012, teachers whom have qualified in Australia and New Zealand will now be recognised as qualified teachers and awarded Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) in England without being required to undertake any further training or assessment.

As well as being eligible to work in the UK, overseas trained teachers (OTTs) will need to have a fully recognised teaching qualification and, in some instances, registration from their country of origin. Teachers can apply for UK Qualified Teachers Status (QTS) by completing the following form:

QTS Application for Teachers from Australia and New Zealand.

For more information on how to gain QTS as an overseas trained teacher please visit the Department for Education's website by clicking here.

Teacher profiles


australian flagAustralian Secondary Schools Search

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales



South Australia

Western Australia


Northern Territory