Bridgewater High School, BRIDGEWATER

Name: Bridgewater High School
Type: Secondary School
Address: McShane Road Bridgewater
Postcode: 7030
State: Tasmania
Region Southern
Phone: (03) 6263 7131
Fax: (03) 6263 6836
Pupils: 450

Bridgewater High School is a State Government coeducational high school for students in years 7 to 10. It is located in an urban setting at Bridgewater, near the urban-rural fringe of Hobart, Tasmania, Australia, in the Municipality of Brighton. The school has its own school farm, 'Summerville', in the nearby town of Brighton.  

Our school strives to bring out the best in all our students. By creating a safe and stimulating environment we seek to encourage our students to make the most of their opportunities. We plan to cater for all students, responding to their individual needs.

Our school is a leader in the area of behaviour management and has in place an excellent pastoral care program. Literacy and numeracy are given the highest priority and technology features prominently in our curriculum


20 Schools in Southern, Tasmania

Primary and Secondary School

Secondary School


QTS for teachers qualified in Aus. and NZ

The Department for Education have now confirmed that as of April 1st 2012, teachers whom have qualified in Australia and New Zealand will now be recognised as qualified teachers and awarded Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) in England without being required to undertake any further training or assessment.

As well as being eligible to work in the UK, overseas trained teachers (OTTs) will need to have a fully recognised teaching qualification and, in some instances, registration from their country of origin. Teachers can apply for UK Qualified Teachers Status (QTS) by completing the following form:

QTS Application for Teachers from Australia and New Zealand.

For more information on how to gain QTS as an overseas trained teacher please visit the Department for Education's website by clicking here.

Teacher profiles


australian flagAustralian Secondary Schools Search

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales



South Australia

Western Australia


Northern Territory