Wavell State High School, Wavell Heights

Name: Wavell State High School
Type: Secondary School
Address: Telopia Avenue
Town: Wavell Heights
Postcode: 4012
State: Queensland
Region Greater Brisbane
Phone: (07) 3350 0333
Fax: (07) 3350 0300
Email: the.principal@wavellshs.eq.edu.au
Website: www.wavellshs.eq.edu.au
Pupils: 1357

Wavell State High School is situated between Wavell Heights, Kedron and Chermside in a residential environment. The school is seven kilometres from the Brisbane central business district.

Wavell State High is very highly regarded in the community and was named by the Australian Newspaper as being one the 40 most excellent schools in Australia - 2004. Wavell caters for Years 8 to 12 in a co-educational environment with enrolments accepted from a wide geographic area.

The school has many excellent facilities including a well provided Library/Resource Centre, six well equipped computer laboratories, two sporting ovals and an indoor sports hall.


47 Schools in Greater Brisbane, Queensland

Primary and Secondary School

Secondary School


QTS for teachers qualified in Aus. and NZ

The Department for Education have now confirmed that as of April 1st 2012, teachers whom have qualified in Australia and New Zealand will now be recognised as qualified teachers and awarded Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) in England without being required to undertake any further training or assessment.

As well as being eligible to work in the UK, overseas trained teachers (OTTs) will need to have a fully recognised teaching qualification and, in some instances, registration from their country of origin. Teachers can apply for UK Qualified Teachers Status (QTS) by completing the following form:

QTS Application for Teachers from Australia and New Zealand.

For more information on how to gain QTS as an overseas trained teacher please visit the Department for Education's website by clicking here.

Teacher profiles


australian flagAustralian Secondary Schools Search

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales



South Australia

Western Australia


Northern Territory