Mitchell High School, Blacktown

Name: Mitchell High School
Type: Secondary School
Address: Keyworth Drive
Town: Blacktown
Postcode: 2148
State: New South Wales
Region Western Sydney
Phone: 9622 8926
Fax: 9831 2805
Pupils: 1045

Mitchell High School provides a pleasant, caring environment where students are encouraged to follow a fine tradition of striving for excellence. The emphasis on tradition and excellence expects from students high personal standards in study, behaviour, personal appearance and responsible behaviours. 

These values are strongly supported by the school community. The school has an excellent reputation in the local community and performs well in academic, sporting and cultural aspects of the curriculum. 

A wide curriculum offering is enhanced by a strong and flexible use of technology to support learning, special provisions for high achieving students and for those experiencing learning difficulties, English as a Second Language(ESL) and Transition Education programs. 

The Parents & Citizens Association and School Council are very supportive of the school.


48 Schools in Western Sydney, New South Wales

Secondary School


QTS for teachers qualified in Aus. and NZ

The Department for Education have now confirmed that as of April 1st 2012, teachers whom have qualified in Australia and New Zealand will now be recognised as qualified teachers and awarded Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) in England without being required to undertake any further training or assessment.

As well as being eligible to work in the UK, overseas trained teachers (OTTs) will need to have a fully recognised teaching qualification and, in some instances, registration from their country of origin. Teachers can apply for UK Qualified Teachers Status (QTS) by completing the following form:

QTS Application for Teachers from Australia and New Zealand.

For more information on how to gain QTS as an overseas trained teacher please visit the Department for Education's website by clicking here.

Teacher profiles


australian flagAustralian Secondary Schools Search

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales



South Australia

Western Australia


Northern Territory