Baralaba State School, Baralaba

Name: Baralaba State School
Type: Primary and Secondary School
Address: 1 Power Street
Town: Baralaba
Postcode: 4702
State: Queensland
Region Fitzroy-Central West
Phone: (07) 4998 2333
Fax: (07) 4998 2300
Pupils: 116

Baralaba State School P - 10 Campus is located in the Gladstone District. The school opened in 1918 and staff and students were housed in a tent. The Administration Block was the first original school building built in 1928. It contains the Principalís and General Office, Staffroom and Health Room. The school buildings now comprise a Resource Centre, traditional primary and secondary general teaching areas, Home Economics and Manual Arts buildings. The school caters for students in Year One to Ten with a .5 Preschool Unit.

The school backs onto a billabong that forms part of the Dawson River. Four bus runs that transport rural students and those from Woorabinda Aboriginal Community provide school transport. The majority of students travel to school by bus.


27 Schools in Fitzroy-Central West, Queensland

Primary and Secondary School

Secondary School


QTS for teachers qualified in Aus. and NZ

The Department for Education have now confirmed that as of April 1st 2012, teachers whom have qualified in Australia and New Zealand will now be recognised as qualified teachers and awarded Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) in England without being required to undertake any further training or assessment.

As well as being eligible to work in the UK, overseas trained teachers (OTTs) will need to have a fully recognised teaching qualification and, in some instances, registration from their country of origin. Teachers can apply for UK Qualified Teachers Status (QTS) by completing the following form:

QTS Application for Teachers from Australia and New Zealand.

For more information on how to gain QTS as an overseas trained teacher please visit the Department for Education's website by clicking here.

Teacher profiles


australian flagAustralian Secondary Schools Search

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales



South Australia

Western Australia


Northern Territory