Lightning Ridge Central School, Lightning Ridge

Name: Lightning Ridge Central School
Type: Primary and Secondary School
Address: Kaolin St
Town: Lightning Ridge
Postcode: 2834
State: New South Wales
Region Western NSW
Phone: 6829 0511
Fax: 6829 0137
Pupils: 450

LRCS is a K-11 school in 2000. It has been developed from a K-6 school to a K-12 school (in 2001) by adding a scholastic year each calendar year. 

Stage one of a major building program to provide permanent secondary and core facilities was completed in 2000 with the administration block being occupied in November and the Industrial Arts and Home Economics facilities being ready at the start of 2001.

TAFE now has a presence on site and has assisted with the equipment of some of the new school facilities to ensure that they meet both TAFE and school requirements.

Kindergarten to Year 6 have formed twelve classes, mostly multi-grade. Enrolments grew through the year to have sufficient numbers for thirteen classes.


53 Schools in Western NSW, New South Wales

Primary and Secondary School

Secondary School


QTS for teachers qualified in Aus. and NZ

The Department for Education have now confirmed that as of April 1st 2012, teachers whom have qualified in Australia and New Zealand will now be recognised as qualified teachers and awarded Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) in England without being required to undertake any further training or assessment.

As well as being eligible to work in the UK, overseas trained teachers (OTTs) will need to have a fully recognised teaching qualification and, in some instances, registration from their country of origin. Teachers can apply for UK Qualified Teachers Status (QTS) by completing the following form:

QTS Application for Teachers from Australia and New Zealand.

For more information on how to gain QTS as an overseas trained teacher please visit the Department for Education's website by clicking here.

Teacher profiles


australian flagAustralian Secondary Schools Search

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales



South Australia

Western Australia


Northern Territory