Sydney Boys High School, Surry Hills

Name: Sydney Boys High School
Type: Secondary School
Address: Moore Park
Town: Surry Hills
Postcode: 2010
State: New South Wales
Region Sydney
Phone: 9361 6910
Fax: 9361 6206
Pupils: 1151

Sydney Boys High School provides equal opportunity for boys to achieve excellence in academic, cultural, sporting and social endeavours, in an environment conducive to learning, teaching and friendship. 

The uniqueness of the school lies in its tradition as the first state secondary school; in its membership of the Athletic Association of the Great Public Schools and its participation in CHS competitions; in its selective enrolment intake, and in its site sharing with Sydney Girls High School. 

The school is supported by various incorporated organisations and school committees, including: The Sydney Boys' High School Foundation Inc., the School Council, The P&C Association, The Creative Arts Council and The Sports Council Partnerships among staff, students, parents, old boys and supporters of High are fundamental to the operation of the school. 


48 Schools in Sydney, New South Wales

Secondary School


QTS for teachers qualified in Aus. and NZ

The Department for Education have now confirmed that as of April 1st 2012, teachers whom have qualified in Australia and New Zealand will now be recognised as qualified teachers and awarded Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) in England without being required to undertake any further training or assessment.

As well as being eligible to work in the UK, overseas trained teachers (OTTs) will need to have a fully recognised teaching qualification and, in some instances, registration from their country of origin. Teachers can apply for UK Qualified Teachers Status (QTS) by completing the following form:

QTS Application for Teachers from Australia and New Zealand.

For more information on how to gain QTS as an overseas trained teacher please visit the Department for Education's website by clicking here.

Teacher profiles


australian flagAustralian Secondary Schools Search

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales



South Australia

Western Australia


Northern Territory