Lucas Heights Community School, Barden Ridge

Name: Lucas Heights Community School
Type: Secondary School
Address: 132 Old Illawarra Rd
Town: Barden Ridge
Postcode: 2234
State: New South Wales
Region Sydney
Phone: 9543 8317
Fax: 9541 0036
Pupils: 982

Lucas Heights Community School was established in 1992 in a new and growing residential area in the Sutherland Shire to cater for local students from Kindergarten to Year 12. 

Our pleasant bushland setting is complemented by modern purpose built facilities which are conducive to effective learning and teaching. Three sub-schools exist within the school: junior, middle and senior school.  

These sub-schools each have their own ceremonies, symbols, programs and student privileges which enable students to develop a sense of progression through their stages of schooling.

Lucas Heights Community School seeks to ensure that our comprehensive educational program for all students provides a sound, challenging education, effective welfare programs and a range of sporting, performance and cultural opportunities.


48 Schools in Sydney, New South Wales

Secondary School


QTS for teachers qualified in Aus. and NZ

The Department for Education have now confirmed that as of April 1st 2012, teachers whom have qualified in Australia and New Zealand will now be recognised as qualified teachers and awarded Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) in England without being required to undertake any further training or assessment.

As well as being eligible to work in the UK, overseas trained teachers (OTTs) will need to have a fully recognised teaching qualification and, in some instances, registration from their country of origin. Teachers can apply for UK Qualified Teachers Status (QTS) by completing the following form:

QTS Application for Teachers from Australia and New Zealand.

For more information on how to gain QTS as an overseas trained teacher please visit the Department for Education's website by clicking here.

Teacher profiles


australian flagAustralian Secondary Schools Search

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales



South Australia

Western Australia


Northern Territory