Merrylands High School, Merrylands

Name: Merrylands High School
Type: Secondary School
Address: Bristol St
Town: Merrylands
Postcode: 2160
State: New South Wales
Region South Western Sydney
Phone: 9632 9401
Fax: 9892 2704
Pupils: 762

Merrylands High School was opened in 1959 and is a coeducational comprehensive high school situated in an established residential area in western Sydney. The school supports two satellite classes from the Holroyd School for Special Purposes (SSP). 

Merrylands High School is a strong community based centre of learning. The school provides the young people of Merrylands and Guildford with a comprehensive, relevant and enjoyable curriculum which values tolerance, embraces diversity, and inspires a commitment to lifelong learning. 

There are high expectations for all, regardless of ethnicity, gender, disability, cultural background, or poverty. The school has a strong reputation within its community and is proud of its history of academic, sporting, cultural and leadership excellence.


55 Schools in South Western Sydney, New South Wales

Secondary School


QTS for teachers qualified in Aus. and NZ

The Department for Education have now confirmed that as of April 1st 2012, teachers whom have qualified in Australia and New Zealand will now be recognised as qualified teachers and awarded Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) in England without being required to undertake any further training or assessment.

As well as being eligible to work in the UK, overseas trained teachers (OTTs) will need to have a fully recognised teaching qualification and, in some instances, registration from their country of origin. Teachers can apply for UK Qualified Teachers Status (QTS) by completing the following form:

QTS Application for Teachers from Australia and New Zealand.

For more information on how to gain QTS as an overseas trained teacher please visit the Department for Education's website by clicking here.

Teacher profiles


australian flagAustralian Secondary Schools Search

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales



South Australia

Western Australia


Northern Territory