Bankstown Senior College, Bankstown

Name: Bankstown Senior College
Type: Secondary School
Address: Antwerp St
Town: Bankstown
Postcode: 2200
State: New South Wales
Region South Western Sydney
Phone: 9707 3288
Fax: 9790 4678
Pupils: 337

The Bankstown Senior College, established in 1992, is a comprehensive co-educational senior high school, encompassing Years 10-12 and includes Sydney's only adult Intensive English Centre for students, newly arrived in Australia, sixteen years of age and over. 

The college caters predominately for mature age and re-entry students from a variety of cultural backgrounds including Arabic, Assyrian, Somali, Vietnamese, Serbian, Kurdish and Chinese.  

The curriculum is extensive and the college provides programs of study leading to the School Certificate and the Higher School Certificate. Intensive English courses are also provided to give students who lack proficiency in English, a firm foundation for undertaking further study. In 2002 over 30 different languages are currently spoken by college students.


55 Schools in South Western Sydney, New South Wales

Secondary School


QTS for teachers qualified in Aus. and NZ

The Department for Education have now confirmed that as of April 1st 2012, teachers whom have qualified in Australia and New Zealand will now be recognised as qualified teachers and awarded Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) in England without being required to undertake any further training or assessment.

As well as being eligible to work in the UK, overseas trained teachers (OTTs) will need to have a fully recognised teaching qualification and, in some instances, registration from their country of origin. Teachers can apply for UK Qualified Teachers Status (QTS) by completing the following form:

QTS Application for Teachers from Australia and New Zealand.

For more information on how to gain QTS as an overseas trained teacher please visit the Department for Education's website by clicking here.

Teacher profiles


australian flagAustralian Secondary Schools Search

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales



South Australia

Western Australia


Northern Territory