Tumut High School, Tumut

Name: Tumut High School
Type: Secondary School
Address: Bogong Place
Town: Tumut
Postcode: 2720
State: New South Wales
Region Riverina
Phone: 6947 1077
Fax: 6947 2497
Email: tumut-h.school@det.nsw.edu.au
Website: www.tumut-h.schools.nsw.edu.au
Pupils: 533

Tumut is a rural town in the south west slopes of New South Wales. Tumut High School, established in 1961, draws students from within the town and from surrounding localities, including Adelong, Talbingo, Brungle, Bondo and Adjungbilly. 

The school has good community support for vocational education, and has a fine record for student achievement in many areas. The school has a multi-purpose centre, two computer rooms and a technology centre, and a well resourced library. The school has a support class for special education. 

A small agriculture farm provides an ideal learning environment. Tumut High School seeks to ensure an effective comprehensive education for all students, providing an extensive curriculum, effective welfare programs and a range of sporting and cultural opportunities.


41 Schools in Riverina, New South Wales

Primary and Secondary School

Secondary School


QTS for teachers qualified in Aus. and NZ

The Department for Education have now confirmed that as of April 1st 2012, teachers whom have qualified in Australia and New Zealand will now be recognised as qualified teachers and awarded Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) in England without being required to undertake any further training or assessment.

As well as being eligible to work in the UK, overseas trained teachers (OTTs) will need to have a fully recognised teaching qualification and, in some instances, registration from their country of origin. Teachers can apply for UK Qualified Teachers Status (QTS) by completing the following form:

QTS Application for Teachers from Australia and New Zealand.

For more information on how to gain QTS as an overseas trained teacher please visit the Department for Education's website by clicking here.

Teacher profiles


australian flagAustralian Secondary Schools Search

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales



South Australia

Western Australia


Northern Territory