Billabong High School, Culcairn

Name: Billabong High School
Type: Secondary School
Address: Gordon St
Town: Culcairn
Postcode: 2660
State: New South Wales
Region Riverina
Phone: 6029 8377
Fax: 6029 8833
Pupils: 386

Billabong High School is a rural comprehensive high school serving the communities of Culcairn, Holbrook, Henty, Walla Walla, Walbundrie, Gerogery, Yerong Creek, The Rock and Woomargama. Such a diverse community (13 feeder schools), within this hinterland, remains a constant challenge for school management. 

The school's ethos is captured in the mission statement: Part of our Rural Community; Creating Paths to the Future; Striving for Excellence. We are committed to quality teaching and learning for all our students. The curriculum is broad, diverse and challenging and reflects the rural background of our students. 

The curriculum offers an appreciation of cultural diversity. A hallmark of the school is its emphasis on student welfare which ensures a caring environment.


41 Schools in Riverina, New South Wales

Primary and Secondary School

Secondary School


QTS for teachers qualified in Aus. and NZ

The Department for Education have now confirmed that as of April 1st 2012, teachers whom have qualified in Australia and New Zealand will now be recognised as qualified teachers and awarded Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) in England without being required to undertake any further training or assessment.

As well as being eligible to work in the UK, overseas trained teachers (OTTs) will need to have a fully recognised teaching qualification and, in some instances, registration from their country of origin. Teachers can apply for UK Qualified Teachers Status (QTS) by completing the following form:

QTS Application for Teachers from Australia and New Zealand.

For more information on how to gain QTS as an overseas trained teacher please visit the Department for Education's website by clicking here.

Teacher profiles


australian flagAustralian Secondary Schools Search

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales



South Australia

Western Australia


Northern Territory